Views
Helpful
Replies

iPads and Cisco AP

paul.mchugh
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm new to cisco products, I've been assigned to setup a wireless network for 200-300 ipads in a education centre, going to 500 ipads over the next 2 years, does anyone have any experience of this and whats cisco APs would you

recommend. How do the APs handle 100 devices access them

simultaneously.

Thanks

Paul

7 Replies 7

Srin_G
Level 3
Level 3

We are using 1242G and 3502i but the number of ipad's are far less that yours.we use it for guest access. I wouldn't recommend more than 25 clients per AP as it reduces the throughput (we have this setup in our warehouse environment). It depends on what type of applications the client access as well. In my opinion if you wanna take advantage of clean-air use 3500 series (more expensive) or else 1242 is good as gold mate.

cheers

George Stefanick
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

If this is specific to iPads. I would consider designing your network for 5ghz only. I would also not do more than 25 devices or so per ap for normal data. If video is used then no more than say 10 or so ..

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

"Satisfaction does not come from knowing the solution, it comes from knowing why." - Rosalind Franklin

Hi George,

thanks for responding, it will be mainly ipads connecting on the wireless.

I will be needing 10-15 APs, which would you recommand. What happens if more that 25 devices connect to 1 AP, how does it push the other devices to the next AP.

Do I need any additional SW/HW?.

Thanks

Paul