Views
Helpful
Replies

Issues associating APs to 5520 WLC

zacharyhall6
Level 1
Level 1

Good Morning!

I have a 4x 2802i APs that need to associate to a 5520 Controller. They are on the same subnet/vlan with the same gateway.

The tricky part is that we cannot connect the SFP+ cables yet, as they are being ordered.

How would I go about associating APs to the controller through the "M" management-redundancy port? I have DHCP scope options set, but would like to validate that it is correct for this specific controller/AP combo.

I have limited knowledge of this platform (CIMC and Virtual Appliance), but have a decent knowledge in the older 2504/5508 Controllers.

Please let me know if you need any additional info!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

How would I go about associating APs to the controller through the "M" management-redundancy port?

You cannot do it. You have to get connectivity through those SFP ports.

HTH

Rasika

*** Pls rate all useful responses ***

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

How would I go about associating APs to the controller through the "M" management-redundancy port?

You cannot do it. You have to get connectivity through those SFP ports.

HTH

Rasika

I appreciate that, it seemed strange when I was told that you could perform all traffic functions through that "M" port, especially considering that port serves as a management interface for the overall chassis.

Thank you for confirming my suspicions!

5520-Ports.JPG
Port "M" is CIMC (Cisco Integrated Management Controller) port used to manage/monitor UCS server functionality. Not to manage WLC functions.

Next is console port &  SP is service ports. RP is for redundancy port for HA link.

HTH

Rasika