Views
Helpful
Replies

Jabber for Windows: Name displayed as user@domain

etamminga
Spotlight
Spotlight

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Jabber for Windows. We configured CUPS and users are able to login, but their username (top of screen) is displayed as User-id@Presence-Domain.com instead of just a readable display name (first-name last-name).

Because we are using the mail attribute (ADAM/LDS) as the users user-id the name of the user now displays as myname@mycompany.com@presence-domain.com which is pretty hard to explain to the user!

What did we do wrong to cause this? We'd like to just display the "first-name last-name" name of a user like almost any images you find on jabber on google show.

Regards,

Erik

11 Replies 11

coflaher
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Erik,

I haven't tested this, but I believe if you add the following to your jabber-config file, it should resolve the issue.

displayName

- Colin

Hi,

No, the nickname field didn't do the trick. Any other thoughts? FYI, we have a cucm/cups cluster synced to an ad-lds (ADAM) domain. Jabber client is currently not able to do an ldap search in ad-lds, it returns an error in its logs about not being able to launch a searcher. Is this related?

What piece of information supplies the data that forms the displayed own username?

(we use ad-lds because this customer has a multi-forrest ad infrastructure.)

Regards,

Erik

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPad App

Hi Erik,

Current release of Cisco Jabber for Windows supports following directories:

Supported directories

• Microsoft Active Directory 2003
  • Microsoft Active Directory 2010
  • Cisco Unified Communications Manager User Data ServiceUDS is supported on Cisco Unified Communications Manager 8.6.2 or later.

(http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/jabber/Windows/9_0_1/b_jabber_win_icg_chapter_01000.html#reference_DCE5937F506D424F9F9523A91B409821)