cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Script to generate a recording for use in a different script

mpsaiz
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to scripting and need a little help.  I two scripts that do the following.

1. A help desk script that will allow the user to stay on line or leave a voicemail for a call back.  For holidays, weekends, and business hours it does all the normal things, if closed the caller is sent to the on call number.

> I modified the script to query the associated database for open, closed, inclement weather and a network

outage.

2. So people would not have to login to change the queue status to the above conditions I wrote a script that will set a value for each condition.  Based on the value set in this script, the help desk will play the appropriate recording.

My Problem:

I am having a problem getting a third script to generate a recording and save it.  When I read online I could get the script to tell me it was recording but I could not find the recording. 

I would like to record a file in a prompt directory helpdesk/outage, and call it outage.wav.  When someone calls the help desk and there is a outage condition will play the recorded outage.wav.

I can do everything here except make the recording and I am getting frustrated.

Note: when I was trying this I ended up with a dbreplication problem and was not sure if I caused it so I am asking for help. 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Well of all the dumb things to miss.  At some point I saw "File Type" and put wav, thought it would add the .wav.

Thank you Sean for your help, you were right on the money here.

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13

mpsaiz
Level 1
Level 1

Sorry I forgot to mention the value for outage, closed...is in the sql database.  I also can modify the script that sets the value to force the user to record a outage prompt before it set the value in the sql database.

Thank you for any help you give me.