Views
Helpful
Replies

9K Nexus Switch Configuration HELP!

mmcfarland727
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I need to apply a NAT configuration for an individual internal IP to be NATed to another internal IP, that is connected to a third party firewall that is situated in our DMZ. The TP firewall in the DMZ is expecting traffic from a specific IP within the subnet that is connected to TP firewall. The server that is in the internal LAN is using the IP 10.4.2.220 and it needs to NAT to 10.170.2.53 when sending traffic to the TP firewall. Please see the diagram attached.

I have never used NAT before on the nexus switches so i am a bit unsure if the following config will work. Please can someone verify if the following is correct?

int vlan 170

ip nat outside

!
int vlan 2

ip nat inside

!

ip nat inside source static 10.4.2.220 10.170.2.53

Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Sergiu.Daniluk
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @mmcfarland727 

Yes, the configuration is good. You are basically translating inside local to inside global. It should work.

One thing you need to add according to config guide:

"If the translated IP is part of the outside interface subnet, then use the ip proxy-arp command on the NAT outside interface"

Reference: https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/datacenter/nexus9000/sw/7-x/interfaces/configuration/guide/b_Cisco_Nexus_9000_Series_NX-OS_Interfaces_Configuration_Guide_7x/b_Cisco_Nexus_9000_Series_NX-OS_Interfaces_Configuration_Guide_7x_chapter_0110...

Stay safe,

Sergiu

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Sergiu.Daniluk
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @mmcfarland727 

Yes, the configuration is good. You are basically translating inside local to inside global. It should work.

One thing you need to add according to config guide:

"If the translated IP is part of the outside interface subnet, then use the ip proxy-arp command on the NAT outside interface"