cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Migration from HSRP to VXLAN

neil_titchener
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,  Firstly thankyou in advance for taking the time to respond to my question.

I'm new to VXLAN and looking into how we can migrate from a HSRP default gateway to VXLAN using Anycast IP.  I have two questions but feel free to add anything you might help me.

1.  The documentation always uses multiple VRFs.  Is this required in an enterprise where there is one tenant?

2.  The diagram below shows what I'm proposing and I think there are two options how to migrate from HSRP to DAG.  First one is to set the MAC address for HSRP and use the same for DAG.  This option would see servers uses both HSRP and DAG as the default gateway for a short time until HSRP was shut down.  The second is to use a new IP for DAG and migrate servers, one at a time to the new Default gateway.  Are both these approaches valid?

The diagram shows only one local network with the current access and HSRP distribution switches with the new DAG distribution switches on the right.

neil_titchener_0-1697707314496.png

Any suggestions would be very welcome.

Thanks in advance.

7 Replies 7

m.kafka
Level 4
Level 4

Hi Neil,

I'm afraid, this will not work smoothly. Overlay VLANs (VXLAN, VNI) are configured like this:

vlan 123
name [choose your name]
vn-segment 4567

I doubt, whether such a VLAN can be operated in both ways, VXLAN overlay and classic L2-VLAN, simultaneously.

Your approach is smart, promising a smooth transition. But I doubt, it will work this way.

Regards, MiKa

f00z
Level 3
Level 3