cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Can only dial branch office using extension, main number does nothing

frnkgrffth
Level 1
Level 1

We have a pbx with Cisco SIP phones running on AWS, at least that's what I've been told. There are three branch offices with about 20 employees in each. The users in each branch can successfully make outside calls and call other employees in the other branches by using the extension numbers "5003", "5004", etc... but in certain cases they need to dial the other branch by using the main PSTN number of the other branch. The users are telling me these calls drop off into hyperspace. No sound, no noise, no call.

I'm just getting into this issue and it's been a long time since I've had to resolve PBX issues. The AWS pbx system is Elastix or something and it's running Asterisk which I have worked with before but again it's been a long time since I delved into IT issues.

Sounds like a network routing issue but I'm just starting to hack through this one. Will post more as I research it.

3 Replies 3

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
but in certain cases they need to dial the other branch by using the main PSTN number of the other branch. The users are telling me these calls drop off into hyperspace. No sound, no noise, no call.

This you need to troubleshoot on asterisk how the call routing ?

this looks for me more of transcoding issue ? what transcoding you using ?

what happend when you call PSTN - is the call land on asterisk ?

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help