cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Industry standard way of configuring E.164 in CUCM 8.0 involving 3 partition/CSS pairs?

Joshua Davis
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am a student at a CCNP voice bootcamp.  Recently my instructor attempted to demonstrate and walk me through a E.164 configuration where the /+.! route pattern is used.  We spent more than an hour troubleshooting the lab when we realized that our called party transformation pattern simply would not strip off the + with a delete pre dot pattern.

Finally after an hour of troubleshooting he came up with a solution but although I have spend over an hour breaking down the process and understanding what he did I find it hard to believe that this is an industry standard solution/configuration.  I would like some feedback to help me better understand what is really going on.

We are using an MGCP gateway controlled by the Call manager.  The MGCP gateway uses ISDN and we are using "debug isdn q931" to see whether or not our configuration is correctly performing the called party transformation pattern for the route /+.!

We could never get this to work because our phone, our translation pattern, our route pattern, our called party transformation pattern and our Gateway was all in the same CSS.  Once we broke up each step into a separate CSS/partition pair then the + could be stripped off and the call could be routed.  I don't see a good example of this in the book but on page 4-189 of the new 8.0 CIPT-1 cirriculum it states "Therefore, creating completely independent CSSs for calling privilege implemenlalion as well as for called- and calling-transformation patlems is highly recommended."

But when we did the lab it just seemed so confusing that I kept thinking there must be a simpler way.  Can anyone please shed some light on this process.

So here is the process:

Phone is placed in partition Internal