Views
Helpful
Replies

Newbie Digital Telephony / Networking Question

oliverlennox
Level 1
Level 1

Hi There,

I'm a bit of a novice at this so apologies if this is a stupid question! 

I'm currently working with a client (a Cisco customer) who operates a large site spread across several buildings. Each building contains a comms cabinet and the cabinets are connected together with fibre optic lines. Inside each building is a standard CAT6 network.

From my basic understanding of networking the fibre lines in this setup are acting like long patch cables and connecting the switches in each comms cabinet together - is that right? So you have one continuous network across the whole site? So from a routing / IP perspective it's fine because the routers at each end of the fibre can direct traffic and you can shunt data around your network between the buildings.

The bit I'm a bit confused with is the telephony side of things. These guys don't actually use an IP telephony system (yet!) they still use a digital switchboard system which is house near one comms cabinet and connected to a bundle of ISDN phone lines. From my (again, very limited) experience of these switchboards you have a port on the box corresponding to a digital line and these ports are connected on a 1-to-1 basis to a CAT5/6 port which connects to a digital telephone. 

My question is: How do you go about sending a series of digital phone ports down a fibre optic line and then separating them out again at the other end? I'm guessing this system is completely different from TCP/IP and so needs to happen apart from your network switches? Also is it possible to use the same fibre line for both your TCP/IP data traffic and your digital phone lines? Or is there some aspect of this which I'm completely missing?

Any advice/explanation would be extremely helpful! Thanks very much for your time

2 Replies 2

Dennis Mink
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni