ANNOUNCEMENT - The community will be down for maintenace this Thursday August 13 from 12:00 AM PT to 02:00 AM PT. As a precaution save your work.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
852
Views
0
Helpful
13
Replies
Highlighted
Beginner

Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

Hi All

I have a major problem at a suctomer site. I attended just to reset the password on their 2801 CME router. After reseting the password the phones will not come up, I've incuded as much detail as possible here as I am really up against it for time. Any help would be hugely appreciated.

Equipment:

2801 Router with CME

2950 switch

6 7940 phones

1 7970 phone

They do have another switch and router on site but this is independant as far as I can see. Phones are patched directly to the 2950 switch.

Here's what happened

                booted into rommon and changed the config register to 2142 and restarted

                viewed the startup config and copied into a text file

                copied the startup config to running config

                change enabled secret

                copied running config to startup config

                rebooted

Phones didn't come up. Logged into router, could see fe0/0 and subinterfaces as well as the tftp service engine were admin down. Brought them up. Eventually all phones come back up.     

Because they were admin down, I was worried that if they had a power cut, the same thing would happen and the phones wouldn't come up. So I rebooted again to see if the same thing would happen, which it did. This time though when I brought the interfaces up the phones didn't come back up except for the 7970. I rebooted the switch, no effect.

When the phones boot it says 'no load specified' and then configuring vlan, then goes to configuring ip and just sits there. Sometimes some phones will get the correct DHCP information (g/w, tftp, cme rotuer) but still sit on configuring IP.

I've tried putting settings in manually - same thing

If I do a show ip dhcp bindings I can see the phones have been given leases but they don't show on the phone.

Config Summary

Phone VLAN: 700

Interface: fe0/0.700

IP: 192.168.80.253 (I can't ping this from the my laptop but I guess I shouldn't as I wont be on the phone vlan?? although I have set myself an address on that range)

The DHCP config looks ok apart from the following which I have never seen.

no ip dhcp use vrf connected

I'm not very experiences at all in VOIP and I don't know how to move forward.

debug TFTP and DHCP events show nothing. I have not reset the password on the switch, I feel the problem is on the router as the sytem usually recovers from power outages, and also worked today.

Thanks all. I'm really up against it.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

Hi.

Try , under telephony-service, to put create cnf-files command.

For warning message shut and no shut for these interfaces

interface BRI0/0/0

interface BRI0/0/1

HTH

Carlo

Please rate all helpful posts "The more you help the more you learn"

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
Highlighted

Re: Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

Hi Paul.

Can you attach the actual config of vg and a couple of show:

show ip int brie

show ip dhcp binding.

Also remember to reset the configuration register to 0x2102. If you reboot the router without changing this value, the router will alway ignore the startup config.

HTH

Regards

Carlo

Please rate all helpful posts "The more you help the more you learn"
Highlighted
Beginner

Re: Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

Hi Carlo

Yes I reset the config register, back to 2101 though not 2102??

Show IP DHCP Binding

192.168.80.5        0100.1bd4.3387.4a       Nov 18 2012 06:44 PM    Automatic

192.168.80.7        0100.1bd4.6045.5a       Nov 18 2012 06:44 PM    Automatic

192.168.80.9        0100.1bd4.6048.ec       Nov 18 2012 06:44 PM    Automatic

192.168.80.10       0100.1bd4.604a.c4       Nov 18 2012 06:44 PM    Automatic

192.168.80.11       0100.1bd4.6067.84       Nov 18 2012 06:44 PM    Automatic

192.168.80.12       0100.1bd4.604b.4f       Nov 18 2012 06:44 PM    Automatic

192.168.80.13       0100.070e.1653.53       Nov 18 2012 02:51 PM    Automatic

Trying to figure how to attach the config... :-)

pride-cme-cov_01#show ephone summary

hairpin_block:

ephone-1 Mac:0007.0E16.5353 TCP socket:[1] activeLine:0 REGISTERED

mediaActive:0 offhook:0 ringing:0 reset:0 reset_sent:0 debug:1

IP:192.168.80.13 7971   keepalive 466  1:1 2s101

sp1:902476450871

ephone-2 Mac:001B.D460.4C12 TCP socket:[-1] activeLine:0 UNREGISTERED

mediaActive:0 offhook:0 ringing:0 reset:0 reset_sent:0 debug:1

IP:0.0.0.0 Unknown 0  keepalive 0 

ephone-3 Mac:001B.D460.4AC4 TCP socket:[-1] activeLine:0 UNREGISTERED

mediaActive:0 offhook:0 ringing:0 reset:0 reset_sent:0 debug:1

IP:0.0.0.0 Unknown 0  keepalive 0 

I've ommitted identical ephone entries

FastEthernet0/0            unassigned      YES NVRAM  up                    up     

FastEthernet0/0.2          172.25.70.254   YES NVRAM  up                    up     

FastEthernet0/0.100        192.168.1.254   YES NVRAM  up                    up     

FastEthernet0/0.700        192.168.80.253  YES NVRAM  up                    up     

Service-Engine0/0          192.168.80.253  YES TFTP   up                    up     

FastEthernet0/1            unassigned      YES NVRAM  administratively down down   

BRI0/0/0                   unassigned      YES NVRAM  up                    up     

BRI0/0/0:1                 unassigned      YES unset  down                  down   

BRI0/0/0:2                 unassigned      YES unset  down                  down   

BRI0/0/1                   unassigned      YES NVRAM  up                    up     

BRI0/0/1:1                 unassigned      YES unset  down                  down   

BRI0/0/1:2                 unassigned      YES unset  down                  down   

BRI0/1/0                   unassigned      YES NVRAM  administratively down down   

BRI0/1/0:1                 unassigned      YES unset  administratively down down   

BRI0/1/0:2                 unassigned      YES unset  administratively down down   

BRI0/1/1                   unassigned      YES NVRAM  up                    up     

BRI0/1/1:1                 unassigned      YES unset  down                  down   

BRI0/1/1:2                 unassigned      YES unset  down                  down   

BRI0/3/0                   unassigned      YES NVRAM  administratively down down   

BRI0/3/0:1                 unassigned      YES unset  administratively down down   

BRI0/3/0:2                 unassigned      YES unset  administratively down down   

NVI0                       unassigned      NO  unset  up                    up     

Dialer3                    172.31.1.193    YES NVRAM  up                    up     

Dialer255                  10.10.10.1      YES NVRAM  up                    up 

As I say, the fastethernet 0/0 and serviceengine interfaces are administratively down when I restart

Highlighted

Re: Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

Hi.

As I can see, IP phones are taking ip address from the dhcp.

Try a clear ip dhcp binding * and power cycle a 7940.

See if it brings the ip address.

Wich behaviour do you see on unregistered ip phones?

Let me know

Regards

Carlo

Please rate all helpful posts "The more you help the more you learn"
Highlighted
Beginner

Re: Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

Hi Carlo

I'm remote at the moment so cannot power cycle the phone. I would have done that many times I think during various reboots. I know for sure I cleared the dhcp binding and restart the switch, I would then have restarted the a few of the phones.

I'm curious as to why the interfaces are always down after a reboot? Earlier when I restarted the router I would get a message on the phones "configuring cnf" not sure about the 'f'. It would alernate between that and the configuring IP. now the phones sit on configuring IP.

Did the config look ok? I can't understand it, nothing has changed apart from that password.

Maybe I should try wiping the config and pasting the original config back in? Would it be safe to do it in that way? I don't want to setup a tftp server if I don't need to

*** Slight update to original situation

I have reload the router, this time not even the 7480 is registered.

Another thing intersting to now maybe... I get this message on restart just before the prompt is available.

Warning: Interface must be cleared after reconfiguring the TEI.

Warning: Interface must be cleared after reconfiguring the TEI.

Warning: Interface must be cleared after reconfiguring the TEI.

Warning: Interface must be cleared after reconfiguring the TEI.

Highlighted

Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

Hi.

Try , under telephony-service, to put create cnf-files command.

For warning message shut and no shut for these interfaces

interface BRI0/0/0

interface BRI0/0/1

HTH

Carlo

Please rate all helpful posts "The more you help the more you learn"

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Beginner

Re: Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

Thanks Carlo we have progress! I could kiss you! sorry... It seems that now we have 6 phones registered, looks like the 7940's, only 1 missing, ephone 1. I have restarted it using the reset MAC-ADDR

Creating CNF files

CNF-FILES: Clock is not set or synchronized, retaining old versionStamps

ephone-1 Mac:0007.0E16.5353 TCP socket:[-1] activeLine:0 UNREGISTERED

mediaActive:0 offhook:0 ringing:0 reset:0 reset_sent:0 paging 0 debug:0 caps:0

IP:0.0.0.0 0 Unknown 0  keepalive 0 max_line 0

Username: Mahomed Password: 12345

ephone-2 Mac:001B.D460.4C12 TCP socket:[-1] activeLine:0 UNREGISTERED

mediaActive:0 offhook:0 ringing:0 reset:0 reset_sent:0 paging 0 debug:0 caps:0

IP:0.0.0.0 0 Unknown 0  keepalive 0 max_line 0

Username: Test

ephone-3 Mac:001B.D460.4AC4 TCP socket:[4] activeLine:0 REGISTERED in SCCP ver 6 and Server in ver 5

mediaActive:0 offhook:0 ringing:0 reset:0 reset_sent:0 paging 0 debug:0 caps:7

IP:192.168.80.2 51208 Telecaster 7940  keepalive 6 max_line 2

button 1: dn 3  number 2003 CH1   IDLE         CH2   IDLE        

button 2: dn 101 number 2501 cfa 2003 CH1   IDLE         CH2   IDLE         overlay shared

overlay 2: 101(2501) 102(2502) 103(2503) 104(2504) 105(2505) 106(2506)

Username: Tina

ephone-4 Mac:001B.D460.48EC TCP socket:[2] activeLine:0 REGISTERED in SCCP ver 6 and Server in ver 5

mediaActive:0 offhook:0 ringing:0 reset:0 reset_sent:0 paging 0 debug:0 caps:7

IP:192.168.80.4 51913 Telecaster 7940  keepalive 8 max_line 2

button 1: dn 4  number 2004 CH1   IDLE         CH2   IDLE        

button 2: dn 101 number 2501 cfa 2003 CH1   IDLE         CH2   IDLE         overlay shared

overlay 2: 101(2501) 102(2502) 103(2503) 104(2504) 105(2505) 106(2506)

ephone-5 Mac:001B.D433.874A TCP socket:[6] activeLine:0 REGISTERED in SCCP ver 6 and Server in ver 5

mediaActive:0 offhook:0 ringing:0 reset:0 reset_sent:0 paging 0 debug:0 caps:7

IP:192.168.80.5 51513 Telecaster 7940  keepalive 8 max_line 2

button 1: dn 5  number 2005 CH1   IDLE         CH2   IDLE        

button 2: dn 101 number 2501 cfa 2003 CH1   IDLE         CH2   IDLE         overlay shared

overlay 2: 101(2501) 102(2502) 103(2503) 104(2504) 105(2505) 106(2506)

ephone-6 Mac:001B.D460.4B4F TCP socket:[5] activeLine:0 REGISTERED in SCCP ver 6 and Server in ver 5

mediaActive:0 offhook:0 ringing:0 reset:0 reset_sent:0 paging 0 debug:0 caps:7

IP:192.168.80.1 49795 Telecaster 7940  keepalive 8 max_line 2

button 1: dn 6  number 2006 CH1   IDLE         CH2   IDLE        

button 2: dn 101 number 2501 cfa 2003 CH1   IDLE         CH2   IDLE         overlay shared

overlay 2: 101(2501) 102(2502) 103(2503) 104(2504) 105(2505) 106(2506)

ephone-7 Mac:001B.D460.455A TCP socket:[1] activeLine:0 REGISTERED in SCCP ver 6 and Server in ver 5

mediaActive:0 offhook:0 ringing:0 reset:0 reset_sent:0 paging 0 debug:0 caps:7

IP:192.168.80.7 51344 Telecaster 7940  keepalive 9 max_line 2

button 1: dn 7  number 2007 CH1   IDLE         CH2   IDLE        

button 2: dn 101 number 2501 cfa 2003 CH1   IDLE         CH2   IDLE         overlay shared

overlay 2: 101(2501) 102(2502) 103(2503) 104(2504) 105(2505) 106(2506)

ephone-8 Mac:001B.D460.6784 TCP socket:[3] activeLine:0 REGISTERED in SCCP ver 6 and Server in ver 5

mediaActive:0 offhook:0 ringing:0 reset:0 reset_sent:0 paging 0 debug:0 caps:7

IP:192.168.80.3 51865 Telecaster 7940  keepalive 9 max_line 2

button 1: dn 8  number 2008 CH1   IDLE         CH2   IDLE        

button 2: dn 101 number 2501 cfa 2003 CH1   IDLE         CH2   IDLE         overlay shared

overlay 2: 101(2501) 102(2502) 103(2503) 104(2504) 105(2505) 106(2506)

Thank you so much!

Highlighted

Re: Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

Sorry I'm married

Glad to help you.

Please rate helpful post and, in case you consider that your question in answered, please mark it as answered.

regards

Carlo

Please rate all helpful posts "The more you help the more you learn"
Highlighted
Beginner

Re: Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

haha.

Do you have any ideas for the remaining phone, e-phone 1, a 7970.

If I do show ip arp the mac is not listed or in DHCP bindings.

I will definatley rate your post, can I put correct answer on multiple posts, just wondering if I should wait untill all phones are working.

I am definatley not reseting this time. I also do not want to reset the dhcp pool encase they don't get an address again :-)

Highlighted

Re: Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

Go to the switch and shut the port where 7970 is connected to.

On the router, clear ip dhcp binding 192.168.80.13 and no shut on the same port.

HTH

Bye

Carlo

Please rate all helpful posts "The more you help the more you learn"
Highlighted
Beginner

Re: Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

unfortunatley I have no access to the switch. I will have to re-connect manually tomorrow, hopefully it will come up. Funny how its either one type of phone or the other that works most of the time.

I will update tomorrow.

pride-cme-cov_01#clear ip dhcp binding 192.168.80.13

% Adddress 192.168.80.13 is not in the database.

Highlighted

Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

I saw that 7970 had that ip address.

In this case... show ip dhcp  binding and clear ip dhcp bind of 7970 assigned ip.

HTH

Carlo

Please rate all helpful posts "The more you help the more you learn"
Highlighted
Beginner

Re: Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

The 7970 no longer has a DHCP binding. MAC address is 0007.0E16.5353

pride-cme-cov_01#show ip dhcp bind

Bindings from all pools not associated with VRF:

IP address          Client-ID/              Lease expiration        Type

                    Hardware address/

                    User name

192.168.80.1        0100.1bd4.604b.4f       Nov 18 2012 08:33 PM    Automatic

192.168.80.2        0100.1bd4.604a.c4       Nov 18 2012 08:33 PM    Automatic

192.168.80.3        0100.1bd4.6067.84       Nov 18 2012 08:33 PM    Automatic

192.168.80.4        0100.1bd4.6048.ec       Nov 18 2012 08:33 PM    Automatic

192.168.80.5        0100.1bd4.3387.4a       Nov 18 2012 08:33 PM    Automatic

192.168.80.7        0100.1bd4.6045.5a       Nov 18 2012 08:32 PM    Automatic

Maybe I need to rebuild cnf for that phone? I assume the phone keeps trying to get an IP if doesn't have one. I'm hoping a power cycle on the phone will do but I'm not confident. I will going to site in the morning, if you can reccomend anything esle to try if power cycle doesn't fix it would be very much appreciated. So stange that this was the only one that worked at one stage.

I cannot thank you enough.

Highlighted
Beginner

Phones Not Coming Up After Password Reset

Hi Carlo

Thanks so much, a power cycle on that remaining phone done the job. I'm a little converned about the interfaces being admin down on but never mind.

Thanks.