Views
Helpful
Replies

SIP Trunk configuration on 2900 router

kardosabr
Level 1
Level 1

Hello There...
I have cisco 2900 series router and we transformed to sip trunk recentrly, does this router model supports sip? needs a special license?
and how's the configurations please.

My network design is like this PSTN>>>Voice GW Router 2900>>>FIREWALL>>>Call Manager

23 Replies 23

Thanks so much for your kind help,
This is my first time configuring a router to act as SBC, I will find workaround to how config SBC features.

In my first response to your post there is a link to a document for how to configure a Cisco router as an SBC by using the Cube functionality. It’s not a direct reference for how to configure it to fit the needs for your specific service provider, you’d need to get the specifics for that from the SP and then adopt the configuration to fit your needs.

Response Signature

Please, does it need any special license to act as SBC?

You’ll need SIP trunk licenses.

Response Signature

kardosabr
Level 1
Level 1

I appreciate your time and effort

The 2900 has reached its EOL and the replacement which is 4k also announced its EOL which reach on 2028, You need a new hardware which will be 8200 or 8300 based on your requirements. CUBE is a licensed feature, you need to procure the license based on how many sessions you subscribe with the ITSP.

I would suggest to reach out to a local Cisco partner who is good in collaboration in your region who can assist you on proposing a solution and also ask him to include the PS which include the configuration of the CUBE feature.

Response Signature

Hello Dear,
Our cisco supplier has recommended to tech refresh for the voice gateway, The cisco 2911 platform doesn't support CUBE feature/licensed as advised by cisco.
The question is, Does cisco C8200 is appropriate platform for this matter?

Thank you and I appreciate your help in answering.

Yes there are 8200 model(s) that are suitable for voice services.