cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ACS 5.6 authentication problem

Colin Higgins
Level 2
Level 2

We are in the process of upgrading our ACS 4.1 to an ACS 5.6 appliance.

The appliance is installed on the network, properly licensed etc.

I joined the ACS server to the AD domain without a problem. I created some local and external (AD) users for testing.

I created a network device (catalyst switch) as a tacacs+ client, and specified single-connect.

When I SSH into the switch, I can log in using my AD username and password, but I cannot go into enable mode. It says "Error in authentication"

my aaa settings are

tacacs-server host 172.25.50.8
tacacs-server timeout 3
tacacs-server directed-request
tacacs-server key <key>

I am missing something somewhere, I just don't know where. If I try and download the ACS support bundle, it says downloading, but doesn't say where to get it (or how).

any advice would be great. I am new to this product.

1 Accepted Solution
6 Replies 6

Colin Higgins
Level 2
Level 2

also, my aaa settings are:

aaa new-model
aaa authentication login listsw2s group tacacs+ local
aaa authentication enable default group tacacs+ enable
aaa authorization exec listsw2s group tacacs+ local

OK, I have an update

I found the reports in ACS, so that is not an issue. Here is what is happening

I have a Catalyst 6509 that has been added to the ACS 5.6 server as a AAA client. Key has been verified, and user accounts are fine (I have verified authentication against other network devices without a problem).

the AAA settings for the switch are

aaa new-model
aaa authentication login listsw2s group tacacs+ local
aaa authentication enable default group tacacs+ enable
aaa authorization exec listsw2s group tacacs+ local

tacacs-server host 172.25.50.8
tacacs-server timeout 3
tacacs-server directed-request
tacacs-server key <key>

If I do a test aaa group tacacs <username> <password>