Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel

As a network engineer should I learn Linux or Python

hfakoor222
Participant
Participant

I'm about to start applications for network engineering positions. I do litigation/cyber fraud forensics.

My SQL skills on a technical level are pretty decent, I have a SQL Expert cert through Oracle, although almost 0 database management experience, however I'm taking a graduate level SQL database enterprise course. I've done machine coding and routines using SQL with VBA in various positions.

As a network engineer I'm wondering if Linux or Python is better. I read that python is good for SD WANs and automation.

However I've recognized Linux can be used in the creation of virtual network functions, or virtual devices. I'm interested in learning network administration (ip addressing, SNMP, building Linux firewalls ~ I'm currently learning and refining skills using freeradius through Ubuntu).  How practical is doing all of this on Linux used in the workplace? I read online they suggest learn Python from several forums, however to me it seems the tasks mentioned above make Linux a valuable skill to have as a network engineer. And maybe the Linux skills could complement SQL in database management or call on the SQL database to be used? However I don't want to learn Linux and not use it. Python from what I've read would be readily applicable in writing various scripts that can automate tasks and be reapplied, which would make my employer appreciate those skillIs.

I do not wanmt to learn both right now.. Rather focus on learning and becoming good t using 1, however its really only worth it if I can apply it in the workplace.

Does any one have advice? Their thoughts or experiences or what either one is used for on a day-to-day or month-to-month use in the workplace?

16 REPLIES 16

Flavio Miranda
Advisor
Advisor

If you need to choose, no doubt Python is better and way more importante for networking.