cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Nexus 5k syslog issue

jonesl1
Level 1
Level 1

Good Morning!   I'm having some difficulties regarding our new Nexus 5020 switches.   We have two of thse in which are connected to multiple

2k models (which are being used in the Top of Rack).    We are currently utilizing the 4.1(3)N1(1) version of code.   I am still very new to these switches

and I'm not sure if it's even considered IOS or if there is another name for it.   

Anyhow, here is my dilemma.   When we initially began setting these up, we noticed that there were two VRF's automatically set up (management

and default).   We are trying to set up logging to go to a remote syslog server, however....it keeps attempting to use the management vrf.    I removed the IP address from the management interface and am using VLAN 1 as my management interface (in-band management).     So....i believe this is where my

issue lies. I'm wanting to send my messages to a logging server, but use the default vrf instead of the management.    I tried using the following command:

logging server x.x.x.x 5 use-vrf default facility syslog

Unfortunately, the 'use-vrf' option doesn't show up for me.    I can't seem to figure out how to force the logging to use a certain vrf.   If anyone can help, i'd greatly be appreciated.   And once again, I'm sorry for my ignorance on this subject.

11 Replies 11

Ganesh Hariharan
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Good Morning!   I'm having some difficulties regarding our new Nexus 5020 switches.   We have two of thse in which are connected to multiple

2k models (which are being used in the Top of Rack).    We are currently utilizing the 4.1(3)N1(1) version of code.   I am still very new to these switches

and I'm not sure if it's even considered IOS or if there is another name for it.   

Anyhow, here is my dilemma.   When we initially began setting these up, we noticed that there were two VRF's automatically set up (management