Views
Helpful
Replies

ASR920 Service Instance Applying Traffic Shapping

trupeni2012
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Im new to the ASR920 service instance but would like to know if anyone has done traffic policing on a service interface. Scenario is multiple service instances servicing multiple downstream clients configured on a physical interface. I would like to shape a downstream cust to an specific 20Mbps pipe.

I had alook at the limited docs on this.

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/routers/asr920/configuration/guide/qos/qos-plcshp-xe-3-13s-asr920-book/qos-plcshp-ehqos-pshape.html

I tried using a ACL with my policy map but every time i try and add it either to the physical port or the service instance i get the error.

Match named access-list is not supported for this interface

here is a configure snip:

class-map Client1
 match access-group name Client1

ip access-list ext Client1
 permit ip any host X.X.X.X

policy-map Service_Inst1
 class Client1
 police cir 20000000

interface GigabitEthernet0/0/0
 no ip address
 negotiation auto
 service instance 1 ethernet
  description Client 1
  encapsulation dot1q 1999
  rewrite ingress tag pop 1 symmetric
 bridge-domain 1000

policy-map output Service_Inst1

interface BDI1000
 description Internet Gateway
 ip vrf forwarding ISP
 ip address X.X.X.X 255.255.255.240

Is this scenario possible?

6 Replies 6

stenofa
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

As QoS ACLs are supported only for ingress traffic in ASR920 , separate Ingress policy-map and Egress Policy-map need to be configured along with separate Ingress and Egress Class-maps respectively

Hello,

as far as I recall, you have to configure a service group, add the policy to the service group, and then add the service group to the service instance. In your case, the whole thing would look like this:

class-map Client1
match access-group name Client1
!
ip access-list ext Client1
permit ip any host X.X.X.X
!
policy-map Service_Inst1
class Client1
police cir 20000000