Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP WITH 2 ISPs and NAT

Tuff
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys! 

I am a newbie and trying to learn and understand BGP when connecting to two different ISPs with multiple(2) local routers. I have vlans that span, using sub-interfaces and HSRP between CORE1 and CORE2. CORE1 is the ACTIVE HSRP thus forwards the traffic. I want my end devices to be able to go out on the Internet and i want to use NAT

I have a provider independent address 192.168.128.0/24 so i am not dependent on the ISPs public address space. Both R1 and R2 are AS1000 and advertise the same PA (192.168.128.0/24) to connected ISPs and i want to use an ip address in that subnet for my NAT....Both ISP1 and ISP2 chose path through R1 as the best route to reach the 192.168.128.0/24 that both R1 and R1 advertised. 

I then created a Default Static route on CORE1 and pointed it R2 and i created the same Dynamic nat   ip nat pool test 192.168.128.1 192.168.128.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 ---> ip nat inside source list 10 pool test overload on both R1 and R2. When i ping from the PC to the internet(90.90.90.1) the traffic goes from PC --> CORE1 --> exit int e2/1 --> to R2 and R2 does the NAT and send it to ISP2 (best route). The problem now is when the reply is coming back from ISP2, it is sent to R1 (because all both ISPs chose to reach the 192.168.128.0/24 via R1) and R1 just drops the packet and send an unreachable message back to ISP2. So the ping never works. But if i change the default route on the CORE1 and point it to R1 the ping works fine.

All i want to do is to provide some redundancy so that the CORE1 can use the other link when one fails, and also R1 or R2 can use its other link if one fail. How can i achieve this ? What am i doing wrong ? Thank You

topo.PNG

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello @Tuff ,

several years ago there was a feature called Stateful NAT that allowed to coordinate NAT between two routers.