Views
Helpful
Replies

Configuring sub-interface IP Address across multiple routers

Mezta1988
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm currently studying CCNA and I'd like to clarify something regarding the LAB which I'm working on. Going straight to the point, I want to establish connections for Vlan 10 and 20 across the the network. however I have no idea on how properly setup the IP Address on the Sub-Interface. As far as I know each sub interface in each of every router will serve as the

default gateway

of for Vlan's in Network R1,2 & 3. 

I would really appreciate if someone can advise me if this topology is possible or not.

Vlan 10: 172.16.0.0/27
Vlan 20: 172.16.0.32/27
R1 Se 0/0/0 172.16.0.65/30 ----> R2 Se 0/0/0 172.16.0.66 /30
R2 Se 0/0/1 172.16.0.7130 -----> R3 Se 0/0/1 172.16.0.72 /30
R3 Se 0/0/0 172.16.0.75/30 ----> R1 Se 0/0/1 172.16.0.76 /30

Routing protocol used: RIPv2

Topology.PNG

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

Did you make this lab yourself or following a lab guide? This lab will not function as is.

1. You cant have VLANs separated by a L3 network like you do. (at least at the CCNA level)

2. The CCNA (or any Cisco exam as far as I know) does not use RIP as a routing protocol. You should either use OSPF or static routing as that's what's needed for the CCNA.

The reason it wont work is simple. Imagine you're R1. You need to send a packet to VLAN 10. It doesn't know about VLANs but it knows about VLAN 10s network of

172.16.0.0/27

How does it know which VLAN 10 to send it to. Well in the scenario it will try to send traffic on its locally connected VLAN 10 network. If the host is on R2 then traffic is dropped since it doesn't have that host on its VLAN 10 network, its on another device.

Hope this helps

-David

View solution in original post

M02@rt37
VIP
VIP

Hello @Mezta1988

You can not achieve this, in this particular way.