Views
Helpful
Replies

Dynamic Routing Not Working Correctly?

Tom101
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm studying for the CCNA, and trying to figure my head around dynamic routing.

The task is to set up 3x autonomous system that uses the protocols ospf and bgp to set up dynamic routing and to share ip routes. 

These are the steps i have taken so far. I have set up 3 bgp areas called 100, 200 and 300. 

On the routers inside each autonomous system i have used the commands below. I have added the label 'X' to represent a number of the ip addresses. To keep it simple all the subnet masks are /24. 

router ospf 1

redistribute bgp X

network 192.X.0.0 0.0.0.255 area 1

network 192.X.0.0 0.0.0.255 area 1

network X.X.0.0 0.0.0.255 area 1

On the outer routers I have set up the necessary OSPF network id, as well as used the commands below to set up the neighbour IP address, and to select the remote-as bgp autonomous area. 

router bgp x

neighbor x.x.x.x remote-as x

network x.0.0.0

redistribute ospf 1

I can get all the routers inside each area to ping each other, but some of the outer routers pings aren't working (not sure if they're meant to?) and the three pc also cannot receive any pings from each other - which tells me i have done something incorrect, i just cannot figure out what.

My question is, does it look like i'm doing anything wrong, and are OSFP and BGP suppose to work like that? 

To help everyone understand i have attached a photo of the network, as well as a Cisco 8.1.1 packet tracer file. If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be fantastic.

Thank you. 

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Under ospf

Redistrubte bgp x subnet

Under bgp

Redistrubte-internal

Try both and do ping again

View solution in original post

Hello,

It looks like your subnets are not quite being advertised correctly. 

You have network 11.11.0.0 advertised instead of 11.11.11.0. This is the same for all your PC connected networks.