cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Is there a FHRP that works between subnets?

I'm curious about the existence of an FHRP that works between subnets on the same LAN. (I know this technically wouldn't be the packets "first hop" anymore, but I'm more so talking about the concept of dynamically changing the packets route out of the LAN). I'm still a beginner in networking, but after some research I can't find one that does this and I'm curious to know why not. It seems like it would add yet another layer of redundancy to a network if you let's say we had a distribution layer with 2 different units, "DistroA" and "DistroB". Each was made up of 2 layer 3 switches running HSRP, and each of those had a connection to a router that left the LAN. DistroA's router was the primary connection to the WAN, but it goes down, wouldn't it be of some use to have a protocol that could trigger an automated response to to make DistroB's router the default gateway out of the Lan for DistroA end devices as well, while the troubleshooting took place on the faulty router? 

I know this is hypothetical, but I love talking about this stuff and would enjoy hearing anyones opinion, knowledge, or corrections on the matter. Thanks!

@ hsrp @ fhrp @networkdesign

5 Replies 5

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Possibly what you suggest is already covered by some FHRPs where the active gateway changes based on what happens upstream.

Richard Pidcock
Level 1
Level 1

Can you post a rough diagram of the topology you're describing and the point of failure described.  I think (if things are properly designed and connected) that FHRP's will provide the needed redundancy.

Richard W. Pidcock

Hello,