cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Loopback interface

kkct
Level 1
Level 1

Okay, I'm a newbie. My question: I have set up 2 routers, connected to each other:

R1

int s0/3/0

ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.252

int lo0

ip address 1.1.1.1 255.255.255.0

R2

int s0/3/0

ip address 192.168.1.2 255.255.255.252

int lo0

ip address 1.1.1.2 255.255.255.0

I pinged the loopback addresses and failed. RIP version 2 is used. Why?

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

You will need to change the subnet mask of the loopback addresses so that the router will use the RIP route instead of the directly connected interface. With your current configuration, 1.1.1.0/24 network is reachable through Loopback interface in both routers. Assuming RIP is configured correctly, change loopback interfaces configuration as follows:

R1:

int loo0

no ip add

ip add 1.1.1.1 255.255.255.255

R2:

int loo0

no ip add

ip add 1.1.1.2 255.255.255.255

HTH,

Meheretab

HTH,
Meheretab

View solution in original post

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello kkct,

you have been provided answers that can solve your specific issue

a) change the network masks on router loopbacks as suggested

+

router rip

no auto-summary

on both routers

(as noted by Rick the auto-summary feature would make ineffective the change of subnet mask with each router presenting network 1.0.0.0/8 to the other one because the shared link is in a different major network 192.168.1.0/24)

b) using host /32 static routes

However, I would like to point out the root cause of your issue, that is the addressing choices you made.

When you choice an IP address for a loopback interface you need to remember that:

1) the loopback interface is a logical interface that is alive up/up until the router is alive

2) the loopback interface is "isolated" it does not have an exit point to reach a device in the same IP subnet