Views
Helpful
Replies

Measuring routing protocol convergence in a small topology

Adasko
Level 1
Level 1

Hi friends,

I hope you can help. I am running a project where I want to test EIGRP and OSPF convergence on a small topology with 4 routers and 2 end hosts (PCs). However, I am struggling to understand how to calculate the convergence upon a link failure and device failure in the network.

I have ran a simulation where I have sent a modified packet continuously in the network from PC1 to PC2. During this time, I have simulated a link failure and that’s where OSPF started to reconverge. From the event log it shows that OSPF reconverged within milliseconds. But when I read online, many suggest that convergence can be determined by the number of packets lost in the transmission.

I also ran a basic ping -t command in real-time but when I performed the link failure, there was no visible downtime from the pings received on the machine. 

I am still new to Cisco Packet Tracer therefore wonder, does anyone know how these time data can be gathered from a Cisco simulator?

I would very much appreciate your help.

3 Replies 3

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Its all depends on the topology and redistribution taking place - you may notice 1 ping loss if the timers are tweaked in the best way.

since you are connected directly with a small topology you will not see that difference when you ping PC1 to PC2

May extend the network with more Routers in the path like ABR/ASBR/Stub routers in the path, you may see small difference of ping loss if you have dual path in the network.

The good thing is OSPF do support up to 16maximum paths, you can also control using maximum path X

more information can be find here :

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/ios-xml/ios/iproute_ospf/configuration/15-sy/iro-15-sy-book/m_iro-update.html

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Hello,