Views
Helpful
Replies

Traffic Shaping - Confusion

enderkaran
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone,

I am a beginner on QoS and little bit confused so far, i saw an example such below:

For example, to achieve a CIR (contract rate) of 128Kbps, the Cisco router will send 16000 bits (Bc = 128000 * 0.125) during the first interval and stop sending any further traffic until the next interval. So, if the access link speed is 1.544Mbps, it will take the Cisco router 10.3ms to send 16000 bits. For the rest of the interval, it will not send any traffic.

The point that i am confused :  It divides 16000bits to interface physical speed (1.544Mbps). but basicly, shaping is to limit our traffic right ? so either we have 1.5 Mbps or 1gig interface, above example forces user to 128Kbps access speed. Then why it devides amount of data that is sent in each interval to access speed ?

it is something like that I am connected to my wifi modem with 54Mbps but my contract is 8Mbps with ISP. for any speed measurement, i should consider 8Mbps which ISP gives me. So in the example above, does access speed matter or CIR rate configured on shaping is our max speed ?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Ender,