Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Traffic Shaping design and advise

Hello Experts @Leo Laohoo  @Rob Ingram  @balaji.bandi 

I have SDWAN implemented and working to design traffic shaping policy.

There are two parts, one is the WAN policy from the underlay for Internet access which covers policies like teams, zoom, SIP-Voip, and other UDP base access.  Do we need any policy for Outlook or any other stuff? 

2nd part is Overlay Internal applications like internal access to phone servers from phones, particular application access to internal servers etc.

Please provide suggestions to design and implement it. Key things to include. 

How to leverage new/more applications in future without disturbing the existing setup.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

As you didn't mention me as an expert (even if I am a QoS expert legend in my own mind - laugh), hope you don't mind if I inject my 2 bits worth.

Firstly, unclear what/how you see using traffic shaping.  If you have something in mind such as shaping some traffic to preserve bandwidth for other traffic, that can be done, but as shaping limits bandwidth all the time, I prefer prioritizing bandwidth based on application needs.

The only time, I usually shape traffic, is when I'm dealing with some QoS control point, which has more immediate (e.g. port) bandwidth than I know is available further along the path (e.g. CIR less than port bandwidth).  Such a shaper creates a bandwidth restriction where I can apply QoS effectively for the path bandwidth.

You mention Internet access.  Of course, the Internet doesn't generally honor/support QoS bandwidth management.

Downstream QoS bandwidth management (like receiving traffic from other Internet sites you have no control over), can be somewhat effective, but generally requires a "special" device like (now defunct?) Packeteer devices.