cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

What command in IOS will allow me to interrupt debugging output information?

The51stAgent
Level 1
Level 1

Hello. I'm still relatively new to this, so please forgive me if this is a dumb question. I tried googling this but cannot figure it out.  I wanted to see debugging in action on my Cisco Router (1841) so I turned icmp debugging on. Then I used windows command prompt to run a continuous ping (ping -t). I am seeing the debugging log spit out a new line every second now, as expected. But how can I stop it? I thought CTRL-Shift-6 or CTRL-Shift-6 and then "x" is supposed to stop the outputs from coming, but none of these are working for me. As it stands, it won't give me time to even press any command. Clearly I could just stop the continuous ping from windows command prompt, but there has to be a way in IOS for me to stop the outputs. Please help!
Thank you,

4 Replies 4

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
undebug all

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

#un al  (blind command you won't be able to view)

if you are too many messages coming in, wait for some time or type for a couple of sometimes.

if you have started debug in the busiest box in the network, you might have locked up already(i do not believe the above command works), the only option you have to reload here. ( only after issuing that command 3 or 4 times un all, then stop then you do not have any option here)

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Hello

if you debugs are preventing you from turning of debug then Disable-uplug  it's connected interface.

Please rate and mark as an accepted solution if you have found any of the information provided useful.
This then could assist others on these forums to find a valuable answer and broadens the community’s global network.

Kind Regards
Paul

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame