Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Omar Santos
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

The evolution of networking and security technology is driving how network engineers, security professionals, and software developers need to prepare for the jobs of today and the future. Cisco announced several updates to all of the certifications and introduced the new DevNet training and certifications at associate, specialist, and professional levels. Cisco also removed the prerequisites for certifications at the associate and professional levels; and also consolidated the CCNA certification program.

I have always said that having programming skills is extremely helpful for any cybersecurity job!

It is great that now you can customize your learning goals at the professional level. For instance, you can study and take the CCNP Security Implementing and Operating Cisco Security Core Technologies (SCOR 300-701) exam. Then take the Automating Cisco Security Solutions (SAUTO 300-735) exam and achieve the CCNP Security certification. Alternatively, you can also take the Developing Applications using Cisco Core Platforms and APIs (300-901) exam and also achieve the Cisco Certified DevNet Professional Certification, as illustrated below:



To earn the DevNet Professional certification, you are required to pass two exams, a core exam and a concentration exam of your choice. The core exam focuses on your knowledge of software development and design. To earn the CCNP Security certification, you are also required to pass two exams: a core exam and a concentration exam of your choice. In this example, you can take the same concentration exam for CCNP Security and the DevNet Professional certifications.

Keep up with further announcements about training, Cisco Press books, and other studying resources by visiting



Getting Started

Find answers to your questions by entering keywords or phrases in the Search bar above. New here? Use these resources to familiarize yourself with the community:

Recognize Your Peers