Views
Helpful
Replies

New Datacenter build - Advice needed on network design

paul.monaghan
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Everyone,

Apologies first off as I'm an inexperienced Project Manager who's just starting out and have been given a task to hypothetically build a fully redundant Data center. My main point of concern is how i can put together a network diagram showing the following equipment with only a brief high level overview of how all this equipment connects to one another as listed below

Infrastructure

A pair of 6506E switches for resiliency in the DC will act as the core and aggregation layers, the 2 switches will be linked together by 2 10GB Links. This chassis based units will allow for spare capacity for growth. VSS (Virtual Switching System) will be configured on the 6506’s clustering the 2 chassis into 1 logically managed entity. This will enable a loop-free topology, allow state full failover of the core / aggregation switches, and increase the oversubscription ratio. ACE load balancing modules have also been included within the Core/aggregation switches providing a throughput of 8Gbps which can be increased to 16Gbps through additional licenses; these will also support the termination of 1Gbps of SSL connectivity for server.

The 140 port requirement equates to 3 x 4948 switches to be utilized in a “Top of Rack” design feeding back to the aggregation layer. Servers are required to have 1 port connectivity only so port count density for dual homing as not been accounted for. The VSS collapsed core/aggregation layer is formed from 6506-E switches with multiple 10G modules and would connect over 10G connections.

The DC will connect into an IBM Network and a Cisco terminal server will connect via PSTN line to allow remote support staff access into the DC for support in the event of complete GSNI and EVPN failure.

The equipment is as follows:

Core/Aggregation Switches: WS-C6506-E x2

Access switches: WS-C4948-10GE-S x3

Terminal server: CISCO2811-16TS x1