cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

4506 report question

cissstc13
Level 1
Level 1

I am really new to cisco switches and I am running into a problem where my intel gigabit adapters are connecting at 100mbs/half duplex.  The PC is set to autonegotiate but I am not sure what the switch ports are set too.  I want to ask our telecom group if they could give me a report which shows all the ports on the switch and what they are linking at or at least configured at.   I am trying to figure out an easy way to script this from the desktop but I was wondering if there was a method that can generate a report from the switch maybe as a PDF or some type of txt format.  I am responsible for the desktops so I have limited access to any switches.  Any input on this matter I would appreciate.   Our PC's are running a mix of XP and vista with a mix of network cards (mostly broadcom 57xx gigbit and the intel 82566DM-2 Gigabit and the intel 82567DM-2)

I know we can get this information from the switch if you check each individual port but there seems there should be a better way.   Maybe there is some type of network management software that is provided with the swtiches that would help?

15 Replies 15

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Steven

Just ask for them a "sh run" which will give you all the details you need including the config for each port. If there is configuration under each port for the speed and duplex then you can assume they auto-negotiated.

Jon

Is there a way to dump that to a text file or some type of output file.

Yes, if the person who is logged onto the switch with hyperterm for example there is an option within hyperterm to capture all the screen output to a text file. I used to do this all the time with firewall rules for some of our apps people.

Jon

Ok that sounds great.  I am going to try to talk with them about it.  Problem is they don't want anyone telling them how to do their job.