cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

A routing question

TimOnCisco
Level 1
Level 1

Hi I’m studying towards the CCNA exam and an currently working through Ch 4 of the ICND 2 book.

Six Router Network-Portion.png

I’ve created a simulated network, the significant portion of which is shown in the above diagram.  There are other switches and hosts, but no other routers.  The routers are using EIGRP.  No configuration has been done to modify route metrics/bandwidths, so each link should be considered equal.  I would therefore expect two primary routes between H1 and H2:

H1 to H2: R1-R6-R3-R4 or R1-R2-R5-R4.

H2 to H1: R4-R3-R6-R1 or R4-R5-R2-R1.

These are shown by the red and green lines in the diagram below:

Six Router Network-Portion-Routes Highlighted.png

I used the show ip route <ip address> command on R1 for H2's ip and on R4 for H1's ip.  In both cases each router listed two possible routes/connections (as I would expect).  In each case the first connection listed has an asterisk next to it; which I presume means it is the preferred route to that IP for that router?  R1 lists R6 as the preferred route, whilst R4 lists R3 (the first of the two possible paths for each route I speculate above).

To confirm my expectations, I used the tracert command from each of the hosts.  Unfortunately this is where things seemed to fall apart.

H1 reports R1-R6-R5-R4-H2 whilst H2 reports R4-R5-R6-R1-H1.

I’m guessing here, but I think that one possible cause for this is because when R4 receives the ICMP echo request from H1’s tracert command, (R1-R6-R3) it returns the ICMP echo reply via R5-R2 to R1. This does not, however, explain why R3 is missing from the tracert output.