Class Voice
      priority 35 (%)
      set ip dscp ef
    Class BusinessApp
      bandwidth remaining 90 (%)
      set ip dscp af31
    Class class-default
      fair-queue

The policy-map was initially configured on the WAN physical interface (gi0/2), and we had no issues.
Then, we changed the configuration, and the WAN interface is now a subinterface on a L3 port channel (Po1.10).

When I want to apply the command "service-policy output POLICY_LLQoverWAN", I get the following error: CBWFQ : Not supported on subinterfaces

Do I have to change the policy-map configuration? I read somewhere on the net that I need to apply a hierarchical policy. Any idea?

6 Replies 6

William Benson
Level 1
Level 1

Edit***

Sorry misread your post, missed you working with port channels..need more coffee

I have no experience with port channels so I'll bow out to someone with more expertise.

Best of luck to you.

The same error message appears for ethernet subinterfaces too, So if you have an idea please don't hesitate :)

Well with ethernet subinterfaces you just attach the policy to the physical interface.

Sub interfaces still have to traverse across the physical interface so as long as the class-map is correctly identifying the traffic, it will also catch traffic from the subinterface.

For example...

I have a five QoS policy that is applied to our router here.  I'm tagging voice traffic, business system traffic (the main business system), business traffic (any other business related traffic), Guest network access, and then the default traffic.

We were having issues here where guests did not have enough bandwidth for streaming presentations in on our conference room, so the owners wanted me to section them off a little more.

So my policy is basically:

Voice

priority 25%

Business System

remaining 20% (just a citrix app doesn't need a lot of bandwidth, but needs some reserved for it to help with queueing)

Buisness Apps

remaining 40%

Guest access

remaining 30%