Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Basic VLAN setup

Hi Guys,

I am new to networking. I have a lab with 1 firewall, 1 L2 switch and 4 PC. 

So I created 5 VLANS (1,10,20,30,40) in a single firewall interface with DHCP enabled. 

What I want to know is, how should I configure the switch so that my switch can get IP from VLAN 1 and all my four PC can get DHCP and internet from each VLAN(10,20,30,40).

I am attaching a firewall interface screenshot.

Also, in my firewall I have configured VLAN1 as Untagged and rest all as Tagged. So that configuration is correct or not?FW VLAN.png

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Given that this is for a lab what you describe is reasonable. The advice from BB is reasonable for a live network environment.

If we knew details about the firewall and the switch then we might be able to provide more specific advice. But here is a general description of what you will need to do.

On the firewall:

- configure the interface as a trunked environment. It should support 5 vlans. vlan 1 should be untagged (native vlan), and vlans 10, 20, 30, and 40 should be tagged. Configure IP addresses for each of the vlan subinterfaces (from the output in the original post it appears that this has already been done).

- the firewall will need to be configured for 5 DHCP scopes (one for each of the vlans). Each of the scopes should define the subnet address for the network, the appropriate mask for the network, and the firewall IP of the vlan as the default gateway. The scope also might want to include information about DHCP servers.