Views
Helpful
Replies

C1000 - TCL script to be triggered on Syslog message

aales1
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to scripting on Cisco switches, so I would need your help.

On C1000 I am trying to create a tcl script that will shutdown all ports on the switch, if it receives Root guard blocking port Syslog message. From what I understand, this switch does not support EEM, so only option is custom .tcl script.

I was able to create .tcl script that is stored on flash, which shutdown all ge interfaces, if triggered manually. I did not found a solution that will trigger the script on syslog event.

Syslog event that I want to trigger the script is: 000024: *Nov 29 17:04:43.945: %SPANTREE-2-ROOTGUARD_BLOCK: Root guard blocking port GigabitEthernet1/0/1 on VLAN0100.

If I try to add ::cisco::eem::event_register_syslog to the script, it will generate error ( invalid command name ) when triggering the script manually - saying that ::cisco::eem::event_register_syslog.

Thank you for your help!

Best regards,
Aleš

5 Replies 5

if the C1000 have event and action command then it support EEM 
EEM is easy than TcL 

I am not sure how to verify both of these actions, but in configuration mode, I do not have an option to create event manager applets, thats why I assume there is no EEM functionality on this switch.

Documentations for C1000 does not mention anything related to EEM/Event management:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/switches/catalyst-1000-series-switches/nb-06-cat1k-ser-switch-ds-cte-en.html

That give us one way use Tcl. 
I will check and share with you the command need. 

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

as per the information the port already blocked, why you looking to shutdown all the ports - if that is case you can not reach the switch from outside.

also everything you see the message and run EEM or TCL, this has more overhead on CPU and switch may crash.