cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Can't Access GUI

Rduhb
Level 1
Level 1

After I create a VLAN  i can no longer access the GUI.

port 1 - trunk connected to router

port 2 - access, PC

The switch is connected to an Edgerouter.

I'm sure it's something simple, but I'm new to VLANs and can't figure it out.

13 Replies 13

luis_cordova
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @Rduhb,

By default, all ports of a switch belong to vlan 1. If you create a new vlan and associate it with the port where you are connected, you will no longer be part of vlan 1, so you will lose connection. If you have access to the switch, try changing your connection to a port that remains in the vlan. You could also try to connect by console to check what happened.

Regards

Rduhb
Level 1
Level 1
Thanks! But I thought if I moved to pc to a port NOT in a VLAN I should be able to login. But I can’t and had to reset the switch.

As stated, by default all switch ports are assigned to vlan 1 which is the native vlan.

The reason you can’t access the GUI from the pc on your access port is because they are in different vlans. It’s logically the same as having two different switches, one with the GUI attached and another separate switch with your pc attached. 

If you create a new vlan and want to access the GUI from a PC on an access port in the new vlan, you must create an interface on that vlan and assign it an IP address on the same subnet as the pc. 

Switch#(config)>interface vlan (number of PC vlan)

ip address x.x.x.x y.y.y.y

then enable http access on that vlan. 

Hopefully that clears it up for you. 

Thanks for the help.  And sorry for the remedial VLAN questions.  But I thought that a port NOT in a VLAN I created is by default in the default VLAN.  And shouldn’t I have access to the GUI by plugging into one of the ports on the default VLAN?   I obviously have a lot more to learn about VLANS.  😀