hutcha4113
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Everyone,

Current setup for our Server Room:

1) Cisco Catalyst 3560G 48 Switch

2)1 Trunk port to the Core

3) Rest of the ports simple access ports to the servers

All of our Servers are Dell, with dual NICs as part of the order.  This year, we were able to purchase another Cisco 3560G, with the idea of making our Backbone to the servers Redundant.

I have some ideas on how to do this, but wanted to bounce them off the experts, as I am by no means a Cisco professional.

Thoughts were as follows.

1) 2 Trunk Ports on each Switch to the Core (Can we bind them together for better throughput?)

2) 1 Trunk Port on each switch, to it neighbour (Backbone).

That should give me High Availability correct?

Then each Server - Nic 1 to Switch 1, Nic 2 to Switch 2 (Backbone)

I can make them standard Access ports, but I was wondering if there was a better way to do this. I.E. rather then have one NIC in standby, can I link the ports that go to each server together, both for better performance, and redundancy?  I am thinking that if the switch ports are standard access, and I plug both NICs in I may have problems.

Dell NICs are either Intel, or Broadcom.

Any help would be great.

1 Reply 1

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

hutcha4113 wrote:

Hi Everyone,

of making our Backbone to the servers Redundant.

I have some ideas on how to do this, but wanted to bounce them off the experts, as I am by no means a Cisco professional.

Thoughts were as follows.

1) 2 Trunk Ports on each Switch to the Core (Can we bind them together for better throughput?)

2) 1 Trunk Port on each switch, to it neighbour (Backbone).

That should give me High Availability correct?

Then each Server - Nic 1 to Switch 1, Nic 2 to Switch 2 (Backbone)