cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Connecting core switches

Shemi
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all, complete newbie here. I am following the CBT Nuggets CCNA course and am trying to connect all my equipment up. In regards to the core switches, I have 2 X 3750v2 switches acting as core 1 and core 2. In the course Jeremy connects these up using sfp modules and a fibre cable. Are there any alternatives to this that don't require me buying anything else?

Screenshot_20221217-000752.png

 ore switches 

8 Replies 8

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

For a lab, you should be able to use just your "ordinary" copper RJ45 connections.

Remember, SFP and fiber are still Ethernet.  Logically, no different from copper connections.  Physically, sometimes uplink/SFP ports have "better" hardware supporting the port, but often, logically, they configure mostly the same as all your other Ethernet ports.

Ah, ok. That makes sense. I wasn't sure if there was a specific reason to use fibre optic cables for the core switches so you've answered that for me.

I'm assuming I will need to make up some crossover cables to connect up the switches? Is there a convention in how you connect up core switches regarding what interfaces to use?

I'm getting the feeling I may be overthinking it and they just need connecting in any way that means that if one switch went down, the other would still work. Am I on the right track?

Hello

@Shemi wrote:

I'm assuming I will need to make up some crossover cables to connect up the switches? Is there a convention in how you connect up core switches regarding what interfaces to use?

not necessarily if the switches interfaces support MDIX which will automatically detect the connection cable type it requires.

sh interface capabilities 

Please rate and mark as an accepted solution if you have found any of the information provided useful.
This then could assist others on these forums to find a valuable answer and broadens the community’s global network.