cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

DHCP for multiple ssid, WLC, packet tracer

trilerian
Spotlight
Spotlight

In packet tracer, I am trying to setup multiple ssid's on a WLC, each on its own vlan.  I would like clients to be able to connect to the ap's and get a dhcp address for the ssid they connect to.  So far, I can only get clients to get a dhcp address from the management vlan, which is the native vlan in the trunk that the ap is on.  I am very new to wifi, so I assumed that the ap's would need to be on a trunk that has all the vlans I want in it, same as the wlc.  I have configured interfaces on the WLC with the ssids and vlan information I want.  I have tried to use the WLC as a dhcp proxy, as I am using an external dhcp server, but when I add an the wlc mangement address as the ip helper to the management interface it doesn't return a dhcp address.  The only way for the ap's to get their address is for me to use the dhcp server as the ip helper. 

I have googling all day, figured I would post here and continue to search.

Thanks for any help. 

6 Replies 6

Hi,

I do not work on Cisco WLC so the information I provide you here could be different (as I work on Controllers from different vendor). Generally, if you configure the WLC with the SSIDs on the correct VLANs and the SVIs are configured on a switch where the DHCP server is configured as well, you do not need DHCP Proxy on the WLC. If the DHCP server is on a different LAN, then you will need DHCP Proxy on each SVI.

The switchport connected with the APs need to be configured as a trunk port with the native VLAN on the AP management VLAN; the AP will get IP address from this VLAN. For clients connected with the SSID (eg. abc-ssid), they will get their IP address from the DHCP server providing IP address for the VLAN (which abc-ssid uses).

If you provide your configurations, we can take a look.

HTH,

Meheretab

HTH,
Meheretab

I am attaching the project.

Thanks for any help.