Views
Helpful
Replies

Enable Privilege Password Recovery

tlbiro
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I need to reset the enable privilege password for a 5510 ASA firewall. Right now, it is currently configured a certain way for the company I work for and am not too familiar with their firewall configurations yet (my first week). Two questions: is there a link to reset this password that is fairly simple to follow along with and how do I reset the password ONLY without affecting any of the company's configurations? I'm super nervous about doing this as I am new to networking in general and don't want to get fired for screwing something up. Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thank you!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Sadav Ansari
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

You can change the password below method it will not affect configuration, only password will be reset all the configuration remain as it is.

check the below link for your reference.

https://community.cisco.com/t5/security-documents/asa-password-recovery/ta-p/3126046

Pls rate if its “Helpful”. If this answered your question pls click “Accept as Solution”.

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

Sadav Ansari
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

You can change the password below method it will not affect configuration, only password will be reset all the configuration remain as it is.

check the below link for your reference.

https://community.cisco.com/t5/security-documents/asa-password-recovery/ta-p/3126046

Pls rate if its “Helpful”. If this answered your question pls click “Accept as Solution”.

Great thank you for this! I will try in a little bit to see if I can get it to work. This won't affect my ASA firewall settings either right? Like all the rules and NATs that are set. It won't affect any of that?

Also, these instructions say to connect to the console port. Instead of using the console port can I follow these instructions by using SSH instead?