cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

enable secret password - different hash each time for same password ?

SJ K
Level 5
Level 5

Hi all,

Everytime i do a

enable secret <samepassword>;

and do a

show run;

The secret password in the running config is always different.

q1) is enable secret using md5 hashing or any other encryption ?

q2) why does the same password result in different encryption or hash result reach time ?

Regards,

Noob

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

johnd2310
Level 8
Level 8

Hi,

Q1) Yes, enable secret is using MD5 hashing.

Q2) If the same password gave the same hash everytime,  an attacker could try hashing a number of passwords until they got to one that matches your password. Therefore the hashes have to be different  to thwart these type of attacks.

Thanks

John

**Please rate posts you find helpful**

View solution in original post

Well, I'm not really a cryptography expert; perhaps somebody else can provide with more details.

My understanding of a rainbow table is the same as yours: "A list of precalculated hash results of a list of dictionary words".

Now, if the original plaintext is altered by adding a salt before the hash is calculated, those lists are useless.

I shouldn't have said 'protection against', is just makes it much more time-consuming to create lists for all possible plaintext + hash combinations.

HTH

Rolf

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

johnd2310
Level 8
Level 8

Hi,

Q1) Yes, enable secret is using MD5 hashing.

Q2) If the same password gave the same hash everytime,  an attacker could try hashing a number of passwords until they got to one that matches your password. Therefore the hashes have to be different  to thwart these type of attacks.

Thanks

John

**Please rate posts you find helpful**

Hi Jond,

Thanks for the reply.

For q2) how does the hashes happen to different for the same password ? is a salt added to it ?