Views
Helpful
Replies

Factory Reset C9500

HuyPhamUS
Level 1
Level 1

Good morning,

I have very little Cisco experience, just joined a new organization, and was told to learn about the Cisco C9500-24/48Y4C switches.  The switches were configured before but the person left and we lost everything. I know the default values for the Management Port are supposed to be 192.168.1.1, webui, and cisco.  When I connected a computer (Obtain IP address automatically) to the C9500 Management Port, the computer got served with the IP address of 169.254.176.92/16.  I tried to ping the Management Port at 169.254.1.1 and 169.254.176.1 but neither one work.  I then manually assigned 192.168.1.66/16 to the computer but it also fails to ping the 192.168.1.1 of the switch Management Port.

I then followed some procedure to recover enable password and factory reset the switch with:

Switch# factory-reset all

The switch came back in ROMmon mode and I found that I'm supposed to "perform a reset in ROMmon mode to automatically set the environment variables."  I did:

rommon1> reset

Is that how to automatically reset all environment variables?  How do I verify that all environment variables have been reset? And the switch is still in ROMmon mode.  I found that that I'm also supposed to "add the Cisco IOS image either through an USB or TFTP."

Is IOSXE-17.14.1 the Cisco IOS image I need? and please help me with step by step procedure how to do it using both USB and TFTP for I'm a very new to Cisco.  Also, what is the default secret for enable?  Thank you so much for all your help.

Huy Pham

12 Replies 12

ammahend
VIP
VIP

follow the steps here

-hope this helps-

ammahend,

Thank you very much but my C9500 switch boots to ROMmon, so I was at Step 3 of Recover from a Corrupt or Missing Image,

rommon1>dir bootflash: (didn't give anything and the prompt became

rommon2>

The procedure indicates: If you do have any valid file, see the Recovering from a Continuous Reboot section.