cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with trunking\dot1Q 2960s switch configuration

Clay Plaga
Level 3
Level 3

I have a new cisco 2960s PoE switch that I need help configuring. I have 8 Cisco Aironet 700's that I have to connect to the new 2960s for our wireless network. I need to configure 8 ports for trunking and 802.1q encapsulation. Can someone tell me what the configuration commands are to set that up? I'm just beginning to learn the Cisco CLI. I think that's one of the things I need to setup to connect the AP's to the switch. If you need any additional information, please let me know.

Thank You very much.

14 Replies 14

glen.grant
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

conf t

interface x/x

switchport

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1Q  ---> this may be the default already

switchport mode trunk

switchport trunk allowed vlan  x,x,x,x    ---> these are vlans you want on the AP

Thank You for the help. I have two questions. I do know the basics of the Cisco CLI, and I did the initial  and the SSH configuration on this switch. If I do a show running config, I should be able to see if there is a trunking configuration on the switch, yes? Also, should I configure each port individually, or can I use the range command to configure gi1/0/2 through gi1/0/9 at the same time? I think I know what the range command is, but can you tell me what that command is? I'm new to the Cisco CLI and I just want to make sure I'm doing it correctly.

I'm not sure what this switchport command is.

switchport command

Thank You.

Hi Clay,

switchport command is to make a port a switch port. Use the ? mark if you get stuck. Glen configuration is correct. 

Ok. Thanks.

Hi Clay,

when you type a switchport command alone it is not complete. You have to specify the mode of the switch port, such as access, or trunk. type switchport and "?" and it will show many option to choose from.

Hi Sammy

Don't want to confuse Clay any more than necessary :-)