cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How a switch handle duplicated MAC address on different ports?

swanming
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, I am studying CCNA and have a question about MAC address table.

Let say I have a switch which have f0/3 connected with a PC with MAC address 0000.0000.0011.

Now i remove the cable of f0/3 and connect to f0/4.

By default they should be some protocol such as CDP which the swithc will learn the MAC address of 0000.0000.0011 on f0/4.

By default the aging time is 300 second, so there will be the same MAC address 0000.0000.0011 on both f0/3 and f0/4 interface for 300 seconds? 
May I ask how cisco switch handle with this case, thank you.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

SW will generate log for moving mac and forward traffic to new port that learn mac 

Here SW without secuirty dont do anything 

If you use port secuirty then SW will shut the port or drop traffic.

MHM

View solution in original post

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

its generally not happens in real environment, until some users try to plug and trying different port. (that is not best practice)

Once the device is moved to NEW Port, it create the new entry in the mac-address table with source mac associated with the interface.

MAC address table can not hold duplicate mac Address, so it will update with new information what switch received.

You can also restrict the devices not move like this using port-security - in this case due to violation of move - the port will be error disabled.

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

SW will generate log for moving mac and forward traffic to new port that learn mac 

Here SW without secuirty dont do anything 

If you use port secuirty then SW will shut the port or drop traffic.

MHM

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame