Views
Helpful
Replies

LAN design

mfruvous
Level 1
Level 1

HI,

We are going to be deploying a VOIP system within the 1st quarter of next year. During the 2nd or 3rd quarter we will be deploying WAP's for barcoding.

All of our LAN switches will be upgraded. Yes, we will be hiring a consultant to help with the equipment purchasing/selection and install. In fact, we already have one proposal. They proposed we use 3560?s.

I have no experience with LAN design but have begun reading about the various types of Cisco switches and I am trying to get an idea of what it should look like and why they chose the 3560?s (I cannot contact this consultant to ask why). From my brief reading I think the minimum we should be purchasing is the 3750?s and maybe should even be looking at the 4500?s. All of our LAN/WAN equipment, except one 24 port switch (other side of building), is in one room.

We will need:

100 ports for data/voip (PoE)

40 ports for WAP (PoE)

40 ports for servers

With the systems we are looking deploy and the money they are willing to spend I need to make sure that I agree with the selected equipment. My boss is all about performance.

Thanks,

2 Replies 2

gpulos
Level 8
Level 8

the 3500/3700 series switches would have to be 'stacked' to provide the port capacity you require.

here is a quick comparison between the 3500/3700 & 4500 series L3 switches:

the 3500/3700 series:

* maximum of 32GB switch fabric

* maximum 38.7 million packets per second (mpps)

* stackable to accomodate more than 48 ports

* optional redundant power supply connection

* fixed configuration device (non upgradeable chassis)

* 128MB RAM & 16MB or 32MB Flash

the 4500 series:

* maximum of 136GB switching fabric (with proper chassis & supervisor engine)

* maximum 102 million packets per second (mpps)

* chassis from 3 slots to 10 slots available

* redundant power supplies available

* upgradable hardware (switching blades, supervisor engines)

* upgradeable RAM and Flash