cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Learning FCoE: which switch?

JimCh
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to this technology, so please forgive any misuses of terminology.

I'm interested in learning how to configure FC over Ethernet so I can experiment "talking" to one of my old FC tape drives over a 10GBE network.

To this end I've bought a 10GBE CNA HBA and configured it in my workstation, and now I need a switch to convert those FCoE packets to FC.

There are a number of affordable used units on eBay: Brocade/Dell/EMC MP-8000P/HP AP802, and the Cisco 6120XP & 6248UP.

The Cisco switches seem to be cheaper so - as I don't have much money to spend on this - they're the ones I'm drawn to.

Am I right in assuming they can be used for this purpose (assuming they have the N10-E0060 FC module installed)? And am I right in thinking the 6248 is just a newer "version" of the 6120 in terms of what it does?

Is there anything I need to be aware of when purchasing?

TIA!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Sergiu.Daniluk
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi @JimCh 

6248 is indeed the next generation of 6120. However, the 6120XP & 6248UP are Fabric Interconnects, which are part of Cisco UCS ecosystem. You won't be able to use them as you intend - as switches. 

The equivalent of the 6248UP in terms of dc switches is Nexus 5548UP (they literally have the same ASIC).

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/switches/nexus-5548up-switch/index.html 

However, on top of the switch, you will also need the FC_FEATURES_PKG license to be able to run the FC/FCoE features.

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/datacenter/sw/nx-os/licensing/guide/b_Cisco_NX-OS_Licensing_Guide/b_Cisco_NX-OS_Licensing_Guide_chapter_01.html 

Or you can use the grace period every 120 days :-)

Stay safe,

Sergiu

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

how about nexus 5K UP

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help