cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Method for detecting loops.....

jimmysands73_2
Level 5
Level 5

I am a network tech at a local school district (easily enterprise network).  I am just a worker bee, so have no say in the design of the networks.  Our topo at a site goes WAN rtr---LAN rtr (6500 of 3550)----distro switches----access switches.

Now at most of our sites we use Extreme, which has a handy feature called ELRP Extreme Loop Recovery Protocol, despite the name, this mechanism just detects loops, in the logs we can see, ok...off the LAN rtr, port 2, then on port 2 we see whats hanging off it...ok, loop off port 5 of that switch.....and work your way down the room.

We do not have STP on our network (dont ask) and yes, logging is not set to standards also......what is the best way to detect loops?  Commonly these loops come from classrooms that have mini-sw's that are looped onto themselves or a wall jack connected to mini sw and that mini sw then connected to another wall drop going back to same sw.  Sometimes I disable all ports minus the WAN uplink on the LAN router, then enabled ports one by one while having a LR hooked up to a user facing rj45 port on the 6500 and when the LR (link runner) shows 100% util, I know that port is now suspect.

Normally I clear counters then look for abnormally high traffic....but this sometimes leads me on wild goose chases. 

Any other ideas for chasing loops in an enviroment that does not use STP?

Thanks

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

This is something else you can do (from techtarget.com):