Views
Helpful
Replies

Migration with vPC, SVI, and HA FW

irenof
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I am studying the best way to migrate two N7k to N9k . The physical topology is depiceted below:

irenof_0-1727111008761.png

During the migration I will create vPC3 for L2 extention. The N7k swithes are in VPC peer-link and create a vPcs with a couple of FW in HA. The connection is done through a /29 network via SVI and both port channels (1 and 2) belong to the SVI. N7k switches do HSRP for the /29 network, n7k1 is primary.

irenof_1-1727111866522.png

My idea is to configure n9ks with SVI and HSRP shutdown and start migrating VPC2 first to the new n9ks. At this time I would only no shut the new vpc2, leaving the SVI down with the N7ks doing the HSRP. My question is, what then? My idea is to then migrate VPC1 to the new 9ks, no shut the new vpc1 and shut SVI on n7k and no shut SVI on n9k with hsrp with the n9k1 primary.

I want to have as short downtime as possible. The N7k1(and N7k2) does a eBGP connection between 2 VRFs in the same machine [ The description of the logil topology is just for 1 network, but I have one /29 for VRF (I gave 3 of them)]

I hope I have been as clear as possible.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello @irenof ,

your approach looks like reasonable

creating L2 connectivity between  Nexus 7k and Nexus 9k pairs.

Then you move the L2 connectivty on a per vPC basis actually migrating the FW standby unit to the new Nexus 9k pair, without enabling the SVIs and HSRP on the new Nexus 9k pair.

Then you move the second vPC to the new Nexus 9k pair.

then you migrate the L3 by disabling the SVIs on Nexus 7k and you enable the corresponding SVIs on Nexus 9k.