Views
Helpful
Replies

Native VLAN on NX-OS 9.2.2

martin.chauchet
Level 1
Level 1

Hello there!

I am quite new to the Nexus switch and OS world, but am familiar to the Catalyst and IOS family.

However, during the configuration of the Nexus 3024X we ordered for a mobile virtualization environment I have some trouble with the native VLAN configuration of my trunk ports. The ESXi hosts (currently only one) attached to those trunk ports may not communicate with the gateway. If I change the port type to access mode, communication is possible. The VMKernel port is not using VLAN tags, so using the native VLAN he should be able to talk to his gateway sitting on the same VLAN.

Here's a config example of what the switchports look like:

interface Ethernet1/9
description "esxi-host-1 vmnic2"
switchport mode trunk
switchport trunk native vlan 136
switchport trunk allowed vlan 135,2000-4000

interface Ethernet1/10
description "esxi-host-1 vmnic3"
switchport mode trunk switchport trunk native vlan 136 switchport trunk allowed vlan 135,2000-4000 interface Ethernet1/11 description "esxi-host-2 vmnic2"
switchport mode trunk switchport trunk native vlan 136 switchport trunk allowed vlan 135,2000-4000 interface Ethernet1/12 description "esxi-host-2 vmnic3" switchport mode trunk switchport trunk native vlan 136 switchport trunk allowed vlan 135,2000-4000

VLAN 136 is the management VLAN, including the ESXi management interface, iDRACs, UPS management and infrastructure services (such as DHCP, DNS, ...).

Does anyone have an idea where my mistake is? Any help will be appreciated!

Thank you in advance and best regards,

Martin

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Not used Nexus switches but as I understand it your ESXi host is in the native vlan but you are not allowing the native vlan on the trunk port. 

Jon

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Remi Astruc
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Martin,

That sounds too easy, but e1/10 and 11 miss the statement:

switchport mode trunk