cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

newbie fiber question

NetAdminMBC
Level 1
Level 1

I've only dealt with fiber in labs, never on the job, so I'm not a newbie in general, but a newbie to fiber.  I'm hoping I'm just making some easily correctable rookie mistake here

Our LAN has two network closets, about 75 meters apart.  We've used the Cat5e backbone between them for years and ignored the fiber backbone, but now I need to use it due to a switch upgrade.  In TenGig5/0/7 and TenGig5/0/8 on the 9410's supervisor module, I first tried SFP-10GBase-LRM modules, and then  SFP-10GBase-SR - both report properly to the switch ("show int [etc]" list the type of module), but though everything is physically connected (I hear the click on all patch cables), "show int" tells me "Down (not connected)."   If I pull the patch cable from the premise wiring and (not looking directly at it!) try to shine it on my hand or the wall, I see no glow - it's dark.

Is there something I have to do to those port configuration to tell it to use the SFP?  Enable it somehow?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The fiber jumpers by default go transmit to receive. Notice the yellow and white fiber bands are flipped on each end. So if each end is doing this you are essentially flipping it twice and are going TX-TX and RX-RX.

It's tough to tell from the picture of the jumper, but they generally snap together and you may be able to pry it apart.

What are you patching the fiber patch cables into from the switch? A fiber distribution box or panel? If so, just as a test, can you flip the fibers on one of the pairs between panels?

View solution in original post

12 Replies 12

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Is the fiber Multimode or Singlemode?

SFP-10GBase-SR should be used with Multimode fiber.

HTH

50 micron multimode

Ok, great. So, you need to use SFP-10GBase-SR on both sides of the connection.