cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Packet Tracer: Port being blocked by STP

Matthew L
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all! I am an apprentice in the networking industry who is struggling with a project i've been set.

I have been tasked with implementing a network specification from my tutor in PacketTracer however when the IP phone attempts to obtain an IP via DHCP,  STP blocks the switchport.

Current setup is attached in the image.

-DHCP server/pool has been configured on VLAN 10, my plan is to have VoIP traffic on VLAN 30.

-Inter vlan routing has been setup and I have confirmed it works because PCs in VLAN 20 can obtain IPs, config has been replicated for VLAN 30 (with the appropriate changes)

-I have run the command "spanning-tree mode rapid-pvst" on the multilayer switches

P.S any suggestions for improvement or best practices will be greatly appreciated!

4 Replies 4

Hi

You can attach the file here to better help you. You need to zip it first.

On the IP phone problem, you may need to setup voice vlan. The phone is send BPDU to switch as it has a "swich inside" 

ex:

Switch#configure terminal

Switch(config)#interface fastethernet 2/5

Switch(config-if)#switchport mode access

Switch(config-if)#Switchport access vlan 10

Switch(config-if)#switchport voice vlan 20

djzn.br
Level 1
Level 1