Helpful
Replies

PortFast For Some Networks But Not Others

IES Sys Admin
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings,

I have 4 offline self contained networks. They are setup as such:

Network 1: Windows Server 2016 As Domain Controllers And Windows 10 (1909) Clients Connected by Cisco C9300-24Ps.

Network 2: Windows Server 2016 As Domain Controllers And Windows 10 (1909) Clients Connected by Cisco C9300-24Ps.

Network 3: Windows Server 2008 R2 As Domain Controllers And Windows 7 Clients Connected by Cisco C9300-24Ps.

Network 4: Windows Server 2016 As Domain Controllers And Windows 10 (1909) Clients Connected by Cisco IE4000s.

Network 1 I replaced the network switches which were HP ProLiants with the Ciscos about a year and half ago and all worked well.

Network 4 I have been running for the past 3 years and they have had an issue where every single Client could not resolve the network connection as a Domain but instead saw the domain network as an "Unidentified Network."

Recently I replaced the HP Switches on Network 2 & 3 with the Ciscos and I started getting the same problem as with Network 4. 

I spent the past 4 weeks going through research on some issue that could be wrong with the DNS and connection issues with Windows to no avail. Someone posted on my Microsoft thread to look into the use of PortFast with BDPUGUARD.

Today I tried to implement it and on all the Networks it fixed the issue with the client seeing the domain! 4 Weeks of work and this is what it was. It was the Cisco Switches. But this fix has led me to another question. Network setups are the same for 1, 2, 3, and 4. All with about the exact same setup of clients, and GPOs, and Network 1, 2 & 3 had the same config. So here is lies the question.

Why, to get the network to see it as a domain, do I need to enable PortFast on networks 2, 3 & 4 but I never had to do that for Network 1.