Views
Helpful
Replies

Problems with PAT

jmarsh
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am a newbie to managing Cisco equipment and I have run into a problem. I need to set up PAT for a small office with only 1 public IP address. I have not had any luck despite using multiple articles, and chapters in CISCO books.

The router is an 870 series with a switch attached to the fastethernet0 port. I am attaching my current configuration, so could someone please look over it and tell me what I am doing wrong,

Thanks.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Here is what you need to get this working. First I don't understand why you are trying to bridge on the FastEthernet4 interface. Here is what you should do to get this working:

1. Under FastEthernet4 remove the bridge-group

!

interface FastEthernet4

ip address 38.100.xx.xx 255.255.255.248

ip nat outside

ip virtual-reassembly

duplex auto

speed auto

no bridge-group 2

!

2. Get rid of the BVI interface. This is only necessary when bridging between the Wireless interface and a vlan for the wireless clients. Its not necessary here.

!

no interface BVI2

3. This needs to be removed and you need to add FastEthernet4 to it.

ip nat inside source list 1 interface FastEthernet4 overload

!

4. Modify the ACL, this is redundant and the last line covers it all.

no access-list 1

access-list 1 permit 192.168.0.0 0.0.0.255

You have to hook the WAN connection to Fa4 for this to work. I assume you know that. You also do not have DHCP so you have to statically assign the DNS and IP addresses.

HTH

Anthony

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

steve.busby
Level 5
Level 5

Try this link for a very simple explanation:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk648/tk361/technologies_tech_note09186a0080094e77.shtml

Looking over your configuration, are the IP addresses on the FE4 and BVI2 the same or different? I usually use the BVI interface to bridge my wireless traffic to my internal network.

HTH

Steve