Views
Helpful
Replies

Qos Newbie

darrenriley5
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

The company I work have finally decided to enter the 21st century and invest in a new telephone system (Interactive Intelligence) to replace the legacy system which has served us well for the past 10 years. The project has only just started and involves upgrading sections of CAT3 cabling to CAT6, replacing Cisco 3550 switches in one area of the building with Cisco 4507 switches and upgrading our Core switches with Cisco Nexus 7010's.

The area that concerns me most is enabling the network for qos as I have very little experience with it. At the moment Im trying to read as much documentation as I can on QOS to bring myself up to speed.

The access layer switches will consist of a mixture of Cisco 3750 & 4507 switches connected to Cisco Nexus 7010 switches which will form a collapsed aggregation & core layer.

Basically I'm after any advice on how I should approach this daunting task of making sure the network will support VOIP.

Any advice is very much appreciated.

Many Thanks

Darren

6 Replies 6

acampbell
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

QOS is a big subject nowadays.

This SRND doc seems to be popular

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/solutions/Enterprise/WAN_and_MAN/QoS_SRND_40/QoSCampus_40.html

HTH

Alex

Regards, Alex. Please rate useful posts.

Do you want to know about QoS or VoIP?

Oleksandr Nesterov
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

You need to start with SRND link to which posted by Alex, understand needs of voice and any other priority traffic in the network and then read QoS guide for used platforms:

Here is Nexus 7000 QoS description and config guide:

http://www.cloudcentrics.com/?p=784

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/datacenter/sw/5_x/nx-os/qos/configuration/guide/nx-os_qos_book.html

HTH,

Alex

Hi,